The five kingdom classification was proposed by R.H. Whittaker in \(1969\).
Robert Whittaker classified living organisms into five kingdoms, on the basis of their cell structure, mode and source of nutrition and body organization
  • Monera
  • Protista
  • Fungi
  • Plantae
  • Animalia
Five kingdom classification
The important characteristics of five kingdom classification:
table 2.jpg
Merits of five kingdom classification:
  • It is a system of classification that is more scientific and natural.
    In this classification system, the cellular organization, mode of nutrition, and characters for the early evolution of life are indicated.
    As in this classification, all the different groups of organisms are placed phylogenetically; it is the most accepted modern classification system.
    It is a system that indicates the gradual evolution of complex organisms from simpler ones.
Demerits of five kingdom classification
  • According to this system, multicellular organisms have originated several times from the protists.
  • The viruses are not given a proper place in this system.
  • It is a classification that draws back with reference to the lower forms of life.
  • Certain organisms that are included under Protista are not eukaryotes.