The Southern Ocean
southern ocean.jpg
  • The Southern Ocean surrounds the continent of Antarctica and is enclosed by the 60°S latitude.
  • Area covered:21.96 million
  • It is bordered by the southern parts of the Pacific, the Atlantic and the Indian Oceans.
  • Marginal seas: The Ross Sea, the Weddell Sea and the Davis Sea.
  • Islands located: Farewell Island, Bowman Island and Hearst Island
  • The water in this ocean is very cold. Much of it is covered by sea ice.
  • The deepest point: South Sandwich Trench (depth of 7,235 m)