• The Prime Minister is elected by members of the Lok Sabha.
  • There are two types of elections: Direct and Indirect elections.
  • A political party has three components: A leader, active members and the followers.
  • Political parties in India are classified into two types: (1) National Parties (2) State Parties.
  • In 2017, there were seven recognised national parties.
  • The term ‘pressure group’ originated in the USA.
  • A large number of pressure groups exist in India.