Jayant Vishnu Narlikar is an Indian astrophysicist and emeritus professor at the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA). He was born in Kolhapur, India, on July \(19\), \(1938\). His father, Vishnu Vasudev Narlikar, was a mathematician and theoretical physicist who worked at Banaras Hindu University in Varanasi as Professor and Head of the Department of Mathematics, and his mother, Sumati Narlikar, was a Sanskrit scholar. Mangala Narlikar is his wife, and he has three daughters. His maternal uncle was the distinguished statistician V. S. Huzurbazar.
Jayant Vishnu Narlikar*
Narlikar completed his school education at Central Hindu College (now Central Hindu Boys School). In 1957, he graduated from Banaras Hindu University with a Bachelor of Science degree. He subsequently began his studies at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge University, where he got a BA (Tripos) degree in mathematics in 1959, just like his father. Narlikar has earned several national and international honorary doctorates and prizes. He is an Associate of the Royal Astronomical Society of London, and a Fellow of the three Indian National Science Academies and the Third World Academy of Sciences.
He co-developed the conformal gravity theory, often known as the Hoyle–Narlikar theory, with Sir Fred Hoyle (an English astronomer). The Hoyle–Narlikar theory of gravity is a Machian and conformal gravity theory presented by Fred Hoyle and Jayant Narlikar that fits within the quasi-steady state model of the cosmos. Apart from his scientific work, Narlikar has established a reputation as a science communicator through his books, articles, and radio and television programmes.
Atmaram Award by Central Hindi Directorate - \(1989\)
The Indira Gandhi Award of the Indian National Science Academy - \(1990\)
Kalinga Prize - \(1996\)
Infosys Prize - \(2009\)
Padma Vibhushan for research work (India's second-highest civilian honour) - \(2004\)
Maharashtra Bhushan Award - \(2010\)
Sahitya Akademi Award for his autobiography in Marathi - \(2014\)
Listed below are the fictions written by Jayant Narlikar:

The Comet - \(1976 \)
The Adventure - \(1986\)
The Return of Vaman - \(1990\)
Refer to this link to get a list of books written by Jayant Narlikar.