Pratihars were also called Gurjaras, as they originated from the Gurjarata (Jodhpur region). They ruled over western India and parts of northern India between the 7th century A.D. and \(11\)th century A.D.
This map shows the Gurjara Pratihara Empire
at its greatest extent in 900 AD.
Harichandra laid the foundation of the Gurjara dynasty in the 6th century. Nagabhatta I was the pre-eminent ruler of Pratiharas, as he extended his empire from Jodhpur in the north-west to Gwalior in central India. He controlled the expansion of the Arabs of Sind from the east.
Nagabhatta I was succeeded by Vatsaraja, who desired to dominate North India and attempted capturing Kanauj, which led to the conflict with the Pala ruler Dharmapala.
arun sambhu mishra Shutterstock.jpg
Statue of Raja Bhoja, the Upper Lake, Bhopal.
Vatsaraja’s successors were Nagabhatta-II and Rambhadra. Mihirabhoja, son of Rambhadra, started consolidating the power of the Pratiharas. He maintained peace in his kingdom, and he firmly tackled the threat from the Arabs. After Bhoja, the Pratihara Empire continued its full glory for nearly a century.