The word Rajput, was derived from a Sanskrit word Raj-Putra, which means "son of the royal blood". The period of Rajputs was between 647A.D. and 1200A.D. They considered themselves the descendants of the Kshatriyas (traditionally the military or ruling class). After the death of Emperor Harsha Vardhan, his empire disintegrated, and various Rajput clans established in north India.
Three main houses of Rajputs:
Suryavanshi - the Race of the Sun.
Chandravanshi - the Race of the Moon.
Agnivanshi - the Race of Fire God.
Among the kingdoms, Chandelas of Bundelkhand, who claimed lineage from Suriyavanshi and Chandravanshi lines, were notable. Palas were ruling the Bengal region, and Tomaras were leading the Delhi region. But, during the 12th century, they were overthrown by the Chauhans (rulers of north-western India).
In 1829 A.D., Oriental scholar James Tod recorded 36 royal Rajput clans. Out of which, the four kingdoms of Agnivanshi origin: the Parikaras, the Chauhans, the Solankis and the Paramaras claimed a special status.
The major clans were:
  1. The Palas of Bengal
  2. The Chauhans of Delhi and Ajmer
  3. The Rathors of Kanauj
  4. The Guhilas or Sisodiyas of Mewar
  5. The Chandellas of Bundelkhand
  6. The Paramaras of Malwa
  7. The Senas of Bengal
  8. The Solankis of Gujarat