Take a 10 minutes test to understand your learning levels and get personalised training plan!

Download now on Google Play


In this module, lets learn about the basics of central government.
India has a separate system of administration for the Union, States and Union territories.
Students, what comes to your mind when you hear the word 'Parliament'?
Parliament is a legislative body of government i.e it basically makes laws for the country.
 PradeepGaurs Shutterstock.jpg

The power is divided between two sets of governments one at the central in Delhi and separate governments for all the states. This is called as federal system.
India is a Parliamentary democratic republic where the President of India is the Head of Indian Union and the Prime Minister and all the Ministers are responsible for smooth running of the government. This is called central government
Parliament = Rajya sabha (Council of states) + Lok sabha (House of people) 
Parliament consists of two houses namely, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. their composition and functions of each houses will be discussed in higher standards. The members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are called Members of Parliament (MP).
The Term of President is \(5\) years.
The Term of Prime Minister is \(5\) years.
The Term of Lok Sabha members is \(5\) years.
The Term of Rajya Sabha members is \(6\) years
This is a basic explanation for the Central government; you will learn in detail about the Central government in higher classes.
Current Affairs: 
President of India : Ram Nath Kovind (\(2017 - 2022\))
Prime Minister of India : Narendra Modi (\(2019 - Present\))
Defense minister of India : Rajnath Singh (\(2019 - Present\))
Finance minister of India : Nirmala Sitharaman (\(2019 - Present\))
Lok Sabha speaker : Om Birla
Rajya Sabha speaker : Venkaiah Naidu ( Vice President )
PradeepGaurs / Shutterstock.com