The Legislative Council is also known as the upper house of the State Legislature. It is a permanent body but can be abolished by passing a resolution in Parliament.
The Legislative Council's minimum strength must be 40, and the maximum strength must be one-third of the total members of the Legislative Assembly.
e.g. if the total number of legislative assembly members is 240, then the maximum number of Legislative Council should be 80.
The tenure of its members is six years. The Chairman elected by its members is the presiding officer, conducts the meetings and maintains the house's decorum. The Deputy Chairman will conduct the meetings in the absence of the Chairman. Chairman and Deputy Chairman are the legislative council members and are elected by the other members.
How members are elected to the Legislative Council
Members are partially elected and partially nominated. 
  • 1/3rd is elected by the Legislative Assembly.
  • 1/3rd is elected by members of Municipalities, District boards and other local bodies.
  • 1/12th is elected by the graduates in the state with a standing of three years.
  • 1/12th is elected by teachers from secondary schools and other educational institutions with a minimum of three years of teaching experience.
  • 1/6th is nominated by the governor of the state.
The essential qualification to become a member of the legislative council are:
  • Must be an Indian citizen
  • Should be 30 years old
  • Must enrol in the voters list of the state
  • Should not be a sitting MP (Lok and Rajya Sabha) or MLA